Molokai 2 Oahu 2018 – Video Highlights & Results

Molokai 2 Oahu Video Highlights

Start of the 2018 Molokai 2 Oahu Race – Live

Kai Lenny flies to the 1st ever M2O SUP Foil crown

Despite the less than desirable waves, those competing in the foil board division sliced through the water in what seemed like effortless flight as their boards glided just above the oceanʻs surface from bump to bump.

Kai Lenny, 25, who has won both the SUP stock and unlimited races at M2O, led a small group of foilers across the Molokaʻi Channel, finishing in blistering time of 2:52:58. His time is now the standard for this new division at the storied race. Lenny was reportedly clocked traveling at 15 to 18 knots at points during the race.

Kai Lenny Video Highlights

Bernd Roediger at the M2O 2018

Annie Reickert, 17, from Maui marked her crossing as the first and only woman to compete in the inaugural foil division, finishing in 5:20:06.

Travis Grant adds a fourth M2O victory to his trophy case.

After becoming the first SUP athlete to paddle the channel under four hours last year, Australian Travis Grant, 35, glided to his fourth victory at M2O since his first win in 2016. Grantʻs time of 4:23:15 kept Maui paddler Connor Baxter, 23, to a second place finish (4:38:39).

James Casey, 26, from Australia finished third in a time of 4:48:42.

Terrene Black wins her second M2O

Terrene Black is back on top at M2O after her win in the unlimited SUP race in 2013. The 34-year-old SUP veteran looked in excellent shape and had to prove it in a field of former champions. Blackʻs time of 5:27:27 was enough to fend off Germanyʻs Sonni Honscheid, 37, in todayʻs competition.

Honscheid, who finished second in 5:32:36, won three consecutive M2O championships from 2014 to 2016.

Last yearʻs champion Penelope Strickland from New Zealand finished third in 5:57:09.

Josh Riccio and Siri Schubert dominate the Stock division

Floridian Josh Riccio, 29 won the menʻs stock SUP race in a time 5:01:27. He finished fifth overall against a fast and deep unlimited field and nearly edged out Mauiʻs Kody Kerbox at the finish line.

Vinnicius Martins, 22, from Brazil was second and Japanʻs Takuji Araki was third. Their times are 5:24:25 and 5:27:52 respectively.

Siri Schubert, 49, from Switzerland defended her 2017 title in the women’s stock SUP race (7:06:18).

John John Florence’s 1st Crossing

This yearʻs M2O also featured an icon from the professional surfing world. Two-time world champion John John Florence paddled in the two-person prone division with his teammate Kona Johnson. The two tackled the challenge in a time of 6:20:06

Florence, 25, said of his experience, “It was amazing, I had so much fun. I hope to come back and do it again next year.”

Australian assault in the prone division

Matt Bevilacqua, 26, claimed his fourth straight championship at M2O in a time of 5:05:27. Given his skill and experience, “Bevi” now holds the course record and has the second most wins behind his countryman Jamie Mitchellʻs impressive ten consecutive victories set between 2002 and 2011.

Alex Wright, 21, was second in 5:12:45.

Steward McLachlan finished third overall on a stock board against the faster unlimited racers to claim top honors in the stock race (5:33:26).

Lachie Lansdown, 22, could not catch the 30-year-old McLachlan in the closing miles and finished second in the stock race (5:37:56). Harrison Stone, 20, took the final podium spot among the stock paddlers in 5:49:17.

Harriet Brown who claimed her second straight championship at M2O said, “At times it felt like we were going slower than if the channel was flat. Youʻd catch a runner and hit another bump, which made you feel like you weren’t catching anything.”

The 28-year-old Brown finished in 5 hours, 51 minutes, 32 seconds, about 37 minutes behind her record-setting performance last year.

Finishing closely behind Brown in the womenʻs unlimited prone race was Australian Lizzie Welborn. The 19-year-old finished in 5:56:19. The two women were evenly matched over the entire course, but Brown had the finishing strength to create a five-minute lead on Welborn in the final miles.

Maddie Spencer, 21, finished third in the unlimited race (6:18:32), after paddling in the stock race last year.

Japanʻs Mao Kamimura won the womenʻs stock race in a time of 7:26:26 ahead of Australian Heli Murray who finished in 7:33:48.

Molokai 2 Oahu Results

1 Travis Grant 4:23:15 unlimited Australia
2 Connor Baxter 4:38:39 unlimited Hawaii
3 James Casey 4:48:42 unlimited Australia
4 Kody Kerbox 5:01:16 unlimited Hawaii
5 Josh Riccio 5:01:27 stock (1st) USA
Ty Judson 5:10:31 unlimited Australia
7 Niuhiti Buillard 5:13:49 unlimited Tahiti
Nathan Cross 5:18:47 unlimited Australia
9 Vinnicius Martins 5:24:25 stock (2nd) Brazil
10 Takuji Araki 5:27:52 stock (3rd) Japan
11 Ryohei Yoshida 5:41:57 unlimited Japan
12 Harry Maskell 5:44:34 unlimited Australia
13 Kosuke Matsuyama 5:51:32 unlimited Japan
14 Andrew Logreco 5:54:05 stock Hawaii
15 Yusuke Hyogo 6:08:23 stock Japan
16 Jason Stephens 6:12:25 unlimited USA
17 James Martindale 6:20:31 unlimited USA
18 Jeffrey Chang 6:27:24 unlimited USA
19 Robert Stehlik 6:34:16 unlimited Hawaii
20 Kevin Horgan 6:35:45 unlimited Hawaii
Craig Winnett 6:37:37 stock Australia
22 Anthony Vela 6:41:24 stock USA
23 Scott McPhail 6:49:23 unlimited USA
24 Fabio Valongo 7:02:08 stock Brazil
25 Rob Gittoes 7:15:02 unlimited Australia
26 Brad Feldman 7:18:08 unlimited USA
27 Andrew Mencinsky 7:35:28 unlimited USA
28 Marco Cappelli 7:37:26 stock Italy
29 Mote Reh 7:40:54 unlimited Spain
30 Terry Stevens 7:47:37 stock Virgin Islands
31 Dr. Bob Arnot 7:49:45 unlimited USA
32 Belar Diaz 7:58:31 stock Spain
Vincent Dion 8:18:57 stock Canada

* Titouan Puyo (retired hurt; cramps)
* Lincoln Dews (retired hurt; shoulder)
* Mo Freitas (retired hurt; knees)


1 Terrene Black 5:25:27 unlimited Australia
2 Sonni Hönscheid 5:32:36 unlimited Germany
3 Penelope Strickland 5:57:09 unlimited New Zealand
4 Jenn Lee 6:47:54 unlimited Hawaii
5 Kiyomi Sheppard 6:56:44 unlimited Japan
Siri Schubert 7:06:18 stock (1st) Switzerland


Men: Alexandre Bicrel & Hobey Moss (5:16:10)
Women: Thomas/McKee/Fuller (6:54:35)


1st: Kai Lenny, HAW (2:52:58)
2nd: Nathan van Vuuren, RSA (3:17:38)
3rd: Jeffrey Spencer, CAN (3:34:08)
4th: Bernd Roediger, HAW (3:43:20)
5th: Ryan Funk, HAW (3:47:59)
6th: Finn Spencer, CAN (4:28:34)
7th: Tomoyasu Murabayashi, JPN (4:57:47)
8th: Eric Terrien, FRA (5:19:24)
9th, Armie Armstrong, NZL (6:34:36)


Champion: Annie Reickert, HAW (5:20:06)


Women’s unlimited: Harriet Brown, AUS (5:51:32)
Men’s unlimited: Matt Bevilacqua, AUS (5:05:27)
Women’s stock: Mao Kamimura, JPN (7:26:26)
Men’s stock: Stewart McLachlan, AUS (5:33:26)


About the Author

Mathieu Astier

Mathieu is the hyper-active founder of TotalSUP and a multilingual online marketing veteran with more than 20 years of experience working for top international internet companies. His love-at-first-sight for Stand Up Paddling in 2013 led him to build one of the leading online media dedicated to SUP in English and French and to turn his family lifestyle towards the ocean.

To follow Mathieu: